Skip to main content

We're open seven days a week. Book your free admission ticket now to visit the museum. 

Schools and groups can book free tickets here.

Station Hall and other parts of our museum are closed, please check the Visit page for the latest info about closures.

You are here:

Signalling demonstration

Find out how railway signals work and see our historic model layout in action with our team of award-winning volunteers.

For over 100 years the Lancashire & Yorkshire Signalling School model railway has been used to put would-be railway signallers through their paces. It uses authentic period signalling instruments to show how trains negotiate around the rail network safely.

Currently on display in our Warehouse open store, it's the only one of its kind and is still used by Network Rail today. To find out more, explore our online collection.

 

Demonstrations

On demonstration days, the layout will be in operation between 11.00 and 12.30 and between 13.30 and 15.30. An accident reconstruction will normally be held from 13.30.

The L & Y Signalling layout will be in operation on the following dates: 

2024

Saturday 17 February
Saturday 16 March
Saturday 6 April
Saturday 11 May
Saturday 15 June
Saturday 6 July
Saturday 3 August
Saturday 14 September
Saturday 12 October
Saturday 2 November
Saturday 14 December
Saturday 28 December