Skip to main content

To visit, please book free admission tickets or request an education visit
Please note, face coverings are now mandatory when indoors at the museum, unless you are exempt.

You are here:

Signalling demonstration

Find out how railway signals work and see our historic model layout in action with our team of award-winning volunteers.

For over 100 years the Lancashire & Yorkshire Signalling School model railway has been used to put would-be railway signallers through their paces. It uses authentic period signalling instruments to show how trains negotiate around the rail network safely.

Currently on display in our Warehouse open store, it's the only one of its kind and is still used by Network Rail today. To find out more, explore our online collection.

 

Demonstrations

On demonstration days, the layout will be in operation between 11.00 and 12.30 and between 13.30 and 15.30.  The demonstrations will start at 11.00, 11.30, 12.00, 13.30, 14.00, 14.30 and 15.00.

The L & Y Signalling layout will be in operation on the following dates: 

2021

Saturday 18 December
Wednesday 29 December

2022

Saturday 15 January 
Saturday 19 February 
Saturday 19 March 
Saturday 9 April 
Saturday 14 May 
Saturday 11 June 
Saturday 16 July 
Saturday 6 August 
Saturday 10 September 
Saturday 8 October 
Saturday 26 November 
Saturday 17 December 

Wednesday 28 December

Part of the Science Museum Group